Full Site View
Quick Links
  My Bulletin
  Contact The Bulletin

Groene at the Legislature: Teacher absences, substitutes

Mail: Southern statues symbolize suppression

More opinion

Ag News

Senate: Vote no on Graham-Cassidy health care plan

Fall: Good time to spray musk thistle in rosette stage

More Ag News

NorthPlatte Weather

Email Article | Print Article
News - State/Regional News
Nominees sought for Nebraska State Historical Society awardsTell North Platte what you think

The Nebraska State Historical Society is seeking nominations for its annual awards that recognize outstanding achievement in preserving, interpreting, and educating people about the history of the state.

Nominations are due by June 18. Awards will be presented at the NSHS annual meeting on Oct. 12 in Omaha. A committee of NSHS staff, board members, and volunteers will make the award selections.

The nomination deadline is June 18. Forms may be downloaded at  http://www.nebraskahistory.org/admin/awards/application.doc  (Word), (PDF). 

Email completed forms to lana.hatcher@nebraska.gov or mail to Lana Hatcher, Nebraska State Historical Society, PO Box 82554, Lincoln, NE 68501. To receive a hard copy form or for questions call 402-471-3272 or 800-833-6747.

To see listings of previous award winners visit http://www.nebraskahistory.org/admin/awards/

The Addison E. Sheldon Memorial Awardis given to an individual or organization for outstanding contributions to the preservation and interpretation of Nebraska history. Individuals or organizations may qualify for long-term contributions to state history or for an important one-time accomplishment. Former NSHS employees as well as to current and retired board members are eligible.

The Robert W. Furnas Memorial Award recognizes outstanding contributions or assistance to the Nebraska State Historical Society in the form of either long-term service or a significant one-time contribution by an individual or organization.

The James C. Olson Memorial Awardis given to a Nebraska teacher who epitomizes the best the state’s educators have to offer in engaging, inspiring, and guiding their students to discover, enjoy, and learn from the fascinating and important histories we share.

The Olson award is limited to K-12 teachers who encourage and support their students in endeavors such as History Day, who use documents, oral history, or place in classroom projects, or who employ other imaginative or innovative methods to make Nebraska history come alive for their students.

Like this story to send to your facebook

The North Platte Bulletin - Published 4/17/2017
Copyright © 2017 northplattebulletin.com - All rights reserved.
Flatrock Publishing, Inc. - 1300 E 4th St., Suite F - North Platte, NE 69101
Show me Talk Back during this visit